The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Caucus of Public Health Professionals

Board Members
GW Farmer Award
Policy Initiatives
Strategic Plan
WJ Lear Award
Donate/Become Member

Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Award

Download the Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Application!

We would like to recognize the three awardees of the first annual Grant Farmer Scholarship who were recognized at 2016 APHA Annual Meeting in Denver.

First, Joanne Patterson, hailing from a Ph.D. program at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, won our selection committees hearts with a compelling application. Joanne has worked tirelessly to bring LGBTQ inclusion into her work at multiple levels throughout her career and educational endeavors. Joanne exemplified the deep commitment to improving the lives of our community members through public health, advocacy, and education that were the values we wished to honor about our friend, colleague, and past LGBT Caucus Chair, Grant.

Second, we honored Alvin Tran, a Doctor of Science student from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of public health, whose work both prior to graduate school and during is indicative of a strong commitment to the LGBTQ community and improving our community’s health.

And last, but not least, DaRel Barksdale, a DrPh candidate at the Milken Institute School of Public Health at George Washington University. DaRel came to public health through volunteer services, and seeks to use his education fro furthering community involvement in LGBTQ health, with a specific emphasis on the cultural aspects of communicating public health interventions with MSMs and MSMs of color.

We would like to congratulate these three awardees for their efforts on the Scholarship application, and also their commitment and dedication to LGBTQ public health.